HomeNewsBrandon Jones to be AGU President-Elect as AGU Management Transitions

Brandon Jones to be AGU President-Elect as AGU Management Transitions


AGU members have elected Brandon Jones because the group’s subsequent president-elect, in addition to electing 58 different Union officers, Board members, part officers, and pupil and early-career representatives to the AGU Council, and the School of Fellows chair-elect for the 2023-2024 management time period.

Brandon Jones, Program Director for Schooling and Variety for the Geosciences Directorate at NSF, has been elected President-Elect of AGU for the 2023-2024 management time period.

With greater than 16% of our membership who voted within the election that ended on 6 October, Jones, Program Director for Schooling and Variety for the Geosciences Directorate on the Nationwide Science Basis (NSF), was chosen to serve a 2-year time period as president-elect beginning in 2023. He’ll grow to be AGU president in 2025.

As a biologist, Jones contributed to the understanding of controls on the distribution of marine planktonic larvae. As NSF Program Director, he’s working to advance undergraduate and graduate education schemes within the geosciences. All through his profession, Jones has been a champion for rising range and fairness in science. He directed and is engaged with quite a few applications targeted on help {and professional} growth for traditionally excluded students in STEM.

Jones and different newly elected leaders will take workplace on 1 January 2023, and about half of the present AGU Board and Council members will rotate off. New members of the Council Management Group might be elected after the primary of the 12 months, and committees and job forces will proceed their work in help of AGU’s mission and the Board and Council work plan.

We focus on within the accompanying article the participation, timing, communications, and different particulars of this 12 months’s election course of.

Planning for the 2023-2024 Time period
Newly elected Board and Council members will begin orienting to their roles within the subsequent few weeks by observing the upcoming digital Board or Council conferences. Persevering with Board and Council members will be part of new members for management orientation in early 2023.

Members who volunteer could make an actual distinction. It’s rewarding work to advance AGU’s mission and imaginative and prescient in collaboration with colleagues from world wide. Along with Board and Council positions, there are numerous volunteer alternatives for member participation in sections and Union-level committees and job forces. Time dedication is determined by particular roles and tasks. Better of all, volunteering for AGU presents you an opportunity to work with different leaders, develop new abilities, and affect the Earth and area science neighborhood. Members keen on volunteering ought to fill out our on-line volunteer profile. This doesn’t obligate you however does make you discoverable through the recruiting course of.

Newly Elected Officers
The Management Growth/Governance Committee is happy to announce the newly elected members of the AGU Board and Council. Please be part of us in congratulating these incoming leaders.

AGU Board of Administrators
President-Elect: Brandon Jones
Common Secretary: David R. Shaw
Director, Place I: Tanya Harrison
Director, Place II: Babatunde Rabiu
Director, Place III: Edith Newton Wilson

AGU Council
Scholar Consultant: Jordan Allen
Early Profession Scientist I: Lorrayne Miralha
Early Profession Scientist II: Jory Lerback
Early Profession Scientist III: Dana Peterson

Atmospheric and House Electrical energy
President-Elect: Sonja Behnke
Secretary: Eric Bruning

Atmospheric Sciences
President-Elect: Amy Clement
Composition and Chemistry Secretary: Joost de Gouw
Physics, Dynamics, and Local weather Secretary: Hui Su

President-Elect: Emily S. Bernhardt
Secretary: Tana E. Wooden

Cryosphere Sciences
President-Elect: Åsa Rennermalm
Secretary: Lauren Miller Simkins

Earth and Planetary Floor Processes
President-Elect: Suzanne Anderson
Secretary: Joel Scheingross

Earth and House Science Informatics
President-Elect: Krisa M. Arzayus
Secretary: Madison Langseth

President-Elect: Laura Lukes
Secretary: Bonnie Murray

President-Elect: Laura Wallace

President-Elect: Daniel Tong
Secretary: Jennifer Stowell

Geomagnetism, Paleomagnetism, and Electromagnetism
President-Elect: Steven Constable

International Environmental Change
President-Elect: Jonathan H. Jiang

President-Elect: Venkataraman Lakshmi
Secretary: Jennifer Druhan

Mineral and Rock Physics
President-Elect: Renata Wentzcovitch

Pure Hazards
President-Elect: Christelle Wauthier
Secretary: Carolynne Hultquist

Close to-Floor Geophysics
President-Elect: Jonathan Ajo-Franklin
Secretary: Sebastian Uhlemann

Nonlinear Geophysics
President-Elect: Enrico Camporeale
Secretary: Brad Weir

Ocean Sciences
President-Elect: Janet Sprintall
Organic Oceanography Secretary: Angelicque E. White
Bodily Oceanography Secretary: Robert Chant

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
President-Elect: Matthew Kirby

Planetary Sciences
President-Elect: Wendy Calvin
Secretary: Sarah Hörst

Science and Society
President-Elect: Kripa Jagannathan
Secretary: Rosie Oakes

President-Elect: Rachel Abercrombie
Secretary: Germán A. Prieto

House Physics and Aeronomy
President-Elect: Katharine Reeves
Photo voltaic-Heliospheric Physics Secretary: Hazel Bain
Aeronomy Secretary: Scott England

Research of the Earth’s Deep Inside
President-Elect: Nicholas Schmerr
Secretary: Dan A. Frost

President-Elect: Lisa McNeill
Secretary: Jacqueline Austermann

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology
President-Elect: Marie Edmonds
Geochemistry Secretary: Sujoy Mukhopadhyay
Volcanology and Petrology Secretary: Luca Caricchi

School of Fellows
Chair-Elect of the School of Fellows: Sybil Seitzinger


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here