HomeEntertainment & MusicMovieHollyShorts Movie Fest Prizes Go To Victor Gabriel, Ben Proudfoot, Extra –...

HollyShorts Movie Fest Prizes Go To Victor Gabriel, Ben Proudfoot, Extra – Deadline


Compton-based filmmaker Victor Gabriel is amongst a choose group of filmmakers to punch their ticket for the Oscar race, after scoring wins on the HollyShorts Movie Competition.

Gabriel’s 13-minute movie Hallelujah received the Grand Prix for Greatest Quick on the pageant’s awards ceremony on Saturday afternoon. HollyShorts is an Oscar-qualifying pageant, so the win for Hallelujah makes it instantly eligible for Oscar consideration. Producer Duran Jones received the pageant’s Greatest Producer prize.

Two different winners certified for Oscar consideration: Mulaqat/Sandstrom, directed by Seemab Gul, received Greatest Dwell Motion brief, and Scale, directed by Joseph Pierce, received the award for Greatest Animation (scroll for full listing of winners).

Actor Stephen Laroy Thomas in ‘Hallelujah’
BLK MGC Content material

Hallelujah touches on the lack of somebody to gun violence, a tragedy with ripple results on a number of members of a household.

“After an inexplicable occasion, two brothers should tackle the guardianship of their nephew and niece,” Gabriel advised Deadline concerning the plot of his movie. “Their nephew’s like a bizarre bookworm child. That is in Compton, California. After which they’ve to determine what does it imply for them to be males and adults and tackle the duty of one thing that they don’t need to do.”

The director shot his movie near residence. Very shut.

L-R ‘Hallelujah’ producer Duran Jones, actor Stephen Laroy Thomas, director Victor Gabriel
Courtesy of Matthew Carey

“I simply did it in my again yard, like actually my again yard,” Gabriel defined. “Shout out to Miss Luis. She allow us to see her entrance yard, my neighbor. It was tremendous simply us. I simply caught everybody in our yard and made a film and tried to inform a great story. Tried to inform an impactful story.”

Gabriel wears a number of hats moreover filmmaker, working as well as as a wedding and household therapist and at a residential therapy middle for youngsters, he advised Deadline. “I [also] facilitate a Black male trauma group as soon as a month in South Central.”

He stated the street to successful the Grand Prix at HollyShorts hasn’t been a straightforward one. On high of different issues, his automobile broke down final week.

“I’ve been commuting to work, been battling a variety of losses this 12 months,” Gabriel stated. “So, simply to have like somewhat celebration and folks honoring my work, our work, is simply superb. I’m simply grateful, man.”

Amongst different high prizes at HollyShorts, director (The Queen of Basketball) adopted up his victory on the Academy Awards in March with a win for his newest documentary brief, MINK! The movie tells the story of Patsy Takemoto Mink, a Hawaii Democrat who grew to become the primary girl of coloration elected to the U.S. Home of Representatives. Whereas in Congress, Mink co-authored Title IX laws that prohibited discrimination on the idea of intercourse in colleges that obtained federal funding. Title IX grew to become legislation in 1972.

Director Ben Proudfoot, winner of the HollyShorts documentary prize for ‘MINK!’
Courtesy of Matthew Carey

Proudfoot described the HollyShorts award as “very significant as a result of that is the fiftieth 12 months of Title IX. And after I was making The Queen of Basketball, that’s how I realized about Patsy Mink, who was actually the driving power behind the laws that created the world for [The Queen of Basketball subject] Lucy Harris to play basketball and for therefore many tens of millions of others to interact in athletics. Our movie… chronicles Patsy’s story and the place she got here from, what she confronted, the obstacles she overcame, and finally the laws that she wrote and defended, Title IX. It’s very significant, and I feel that is simply one other instance of Patsy’s legacy residing on.”

Proudfoot might be taking his movie abroad within the coming months, and sure again to D.C.

“We’re going to Japan for a screening on the U.S. embassy there in October, which is basically thrilling,” he stated. “And we’re hoping to get some extra screenings on the Hill in Washington and simply convey individuals collectively to rejoice Patsy and what she stood for and likewise to rejoice a narrative of somebody who confirmed us that change is feasible.”

He added, “We dwell in a time when it simply feels inconceivable, like we’re regressing, that we’re going backwards. And Patsy’s life is a testomony, and her story is a testomony – and our movie tells the story of a particular second when she continued and he or she pushed by means of. And a lot of the rights that we rejoice at this time are due to individuals like Patsy, who actually pushed exhausting for progress. And that’s the onus that involves us to proceed in Patsy’s custom.”

That is the complete listing of winners from the 18th HollyShorts Movie Competition:

Grand Prix Greatest Quick: Hallelujah, Victor Gabriel

Greatest Dwell Motion: Mulaqat/Sandstorm, Seemab Gul

Greatest Animation: Scale, Joseph Pierce

Greatest Director: Carlos Segundo, Sideral

Greatest Motion: Kickstart My Coronary heart, Kelsey Bollig

Greatest Thriller: Wild Bitch, Rebekka Johnson and Kate Nash

Greatest Horror: Moshari, Nuhash Humayun

Greatest Comedy: All I Ever Needed, Erin Lau

Greatest Drama: Just like the Ones I Used to Know, Annie St. Pierre

Greatest Documentary: MINK! Ben Proudfoot

Greatest LGBTQIA+: North Star, P.J. Palmer

Greatest Worldwide: The Voice Actress, Anna J. Takayama

Greatest Sci-Fi: Waltz of the Angels, Braden Barton

SAG Indie Winner: My Jerome, Adjani Salmon

Hawk Movies Screenplay Award: Mina Finders Her Edge! Robin Rose Singer

Script Compass Screenplay Award: Within the Backyard of Tulips, Ava Lalezarzadeh

Greatest Feminine Screenplay (Offered by BeCine): Final Ship East, Eris Qian

Greatest TV: A Query of Service, Erin Brown Thomas

Greatest TV Screenplay: Forsyth County, James Sasser

LatinX Award (introduced by Viacom Worldwide Studios): Huella, Gabriela Ortega

Girls in Movie Award: Aside, Collectively, Olivia Grasp Zhou

Greatest Midnight Insanity: Homesick, Will Seefried

Greatest Music Video: Consensual, Jeff Hilliard and Joey Hazard

Greatest Internet Collection: Kura, Vince McMillan

Greatest Producer: Hallelujah, Duran Jones

Greatest Modifying: The Machine, Rowan McKay

Greatest VFX: Black Dragon, Rồng đen

Greatest Costume Design: Sauerdogs, Carmen Granell

Social Affect Award: Stranger on the Gate, Joshua Seftel

Greatest Pupil Movie: The Go to, Ebele Tate

Kodak Shot on Movie: North Pole, Marija Apcevska

Kodak Shot on Movie Tremendous 8MM: Deerwoods Deathtrap, James P. Gannon

Kodak Shot on Movie Honorable Point out: Not the 80s, Marleen Valien

Zeiss Presents: HollyShorts Achievement in Filmmaking and Cinematography: Censor of Desires, Khalib Mohtaseb

Zeiss Presents: HollyShorts Profession Achievement in Filmmaking and Cinematography: Nancy Schreiber


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here